Full-text resources of CEJSH and other databases are now available in the new Library of Science.
Visit https://bibliotekanauki.pl



2013 | 3 | 135-154

Article title

Opowieści muzyczne Johanna Jacoba Frobergera — Allemande faite en passant le Rhin dans une barque en grand peril


Title variants

Johann Jacob Froberger’s musical stories — Allemande faite en passant le Rhin dans une barque en grand peril

Languages of publication



Many of the Froberger’s harpsichord compositions were inspired by the issues other than music. These works can be divided into two groups: works dedicated to particular people and programme pieces which are the descriptions of different events involving Froberger. Allemande faite en passant le Rhin dans une barque en grand peril, as a part of the fi rst Suite in e minor, belongs to the second group. The composition was inspired by some dramatic events seen by Froberger during his cruise on the Rhine which were then presented through music. In this article we attempt to analyze and interpret the compositional solutions aimed at presenting the non-musical content in the musical works. Considering the time when the Allemande... was composed, we chose rhetorical-musical analysis as the main research tool. Allemande... survived to our time in three manuscript sources: Ms . Bulyowsky , Ms. Tappert and Ms. SA 4450. The Ms. SA 4450 is significantly valuable for the research problem in our paper as it shows the division of Allemande... into 26 clearly separate sections, corresponding to 26 events seen by Froberger during his Rhine travel. Each of the 26 events has been both described in the written commentary and highlighted in the musical content. This unique record is invaluable for the interpretation of this work and provides the guidance for the interpretation of other Froberger’s compositions containing program in the title as it shows compositional solutions used directly for the purpose of presenting the non-musical content.


  • Uniwersytet Muzyczny Fryderyka Chopina


  • Charpentier Marc Antoine, Règles de composition, Paris 1690.
  • Froberger Johann Jacob, Neue Ausgabe sämtlicher Werke, IV. 1, ed. Siegbert Rampe, Kassel 2003.
  • Froberger Johann Jacob, Toccaten, Suiten, Lamenti, ed. Peter Wollny, Kassel 2004.
  • Froberger Johann Jacob: Neue Ausgabe sämtlicher Werke, III. 1, ed. Siegbert Rampe, Kassel 2002.
  • Froberger Johann Jakob, Orgel- und Klavierwerke, t. II, ed. Guido Adler, Wien 1899.
  • Gustafson Bruce, Vingt et une suites pour le clavecin de Johann Jacob Froberger et d’autres auteurs; Dresden, Sächsische Landesbibliothek, Ms. 1-T-595 (Strasbourg, 1675), „Journal of Seventeeth-Century Music” 2001, vol. 7, nr 1, http://www.sscm-jscm.org/v7/no1/gustafson.html (dostęp: 31.03.2012).
  • Mattheson Johann, Das Neu-eröffnete Orchestre, Hamburg 1713.
  • Mattheson Johann, Der Vollkommene Capellmeister, Hamburg 1739.
  • Rameau Jean Philippe, Traité de l’Harmonie, Paris 1722.
  • Vingt et une suites pour le clavecin de Johann Jacob Froberger et d’autres auteurs, ed. Rudolf Rasch, Convivium Musicum 5, Stuttgart 2000.

Document Type

Publication order reference


YADDA identifier

JavaScript is turned off in your web browser. Turn it on to take full advantage of this site, then refresh the page.